Australia Rugby Scene

The scene of Australia rugby is governed by the Australian National Rugby Union Team, nicknamed the Wallabies is known to compete with the rugby teams from Argentina, New Zealand and South Africa in the Rugby Championship since 1996. They have won the Tri Nations championship thrice in past 18 years. The years 200, 2001 and 2011 brought them victory.

They have contested against the All Blacks for the Bledisloe Cup since 1932. The wallabies have competed in all the seven Rugby World cups till date and have been victorious in 1991 against England and in 1999 against France.

Since 2010 the team of Australia rugby has been working in removing the minor glitches and has shown improved results in the “Tri-Nation Series”. In 2010 they almost miraculously won the Mandela plate by defeating South Africa and managed to keep their second position secure.

Also in 2010, Australia defeated the All Black after a consecutive 10th defeat, thus making a record in Australia rugby. Following this victory were two more defeats against England and Munster during the European tour. They also won the tri-nations series, now known as the rugby championship during 2011. However were defeated in their next attempt in 2012. For the first time the Wallabies defeated Italy in the 2011 Rugby World Cup, however lost against Ireland by 6-15. The injuries of Digby Loane and Stephen Moore took a heavy toll that year, on their performance. Eventually Australia won against the United States in their Pool-C match the same year.

They won with a lineup of Rob Home, Rocky Elsom, Drew Mitchell, Radike Same, Pat McCabe, Kurtley Bealy with each one of them scoring a try. The last pool match they won was against Russia by a 68-22. They defeated the Springboks to pave their ways to semi-finals. However they were thrown out of the 201 world cup after being defeated by the All Blacks, 6-20.